Click the Links to Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Luxury Pattaya Nightly Condo Rentals | Le Pub Soi Diamond | Pattaya Investigations | Babydolls Agogo | Agoda Users PLEASE READ | Pattaya News | Pattaya Bars | Agoda Hotels | Donating to the Forum | Add your Text or Event here

Daz Manc

This is how much Pattaya has changed in only 8 years since Smart Phones

Daz Manc

IMO the biggest change in Pattaya started in Jan 2011 when the first Samsung Galaxy smart phones went on sale in Thailand, before that the i phones were too expensive for Thais.

I have been coming since 1999, and very little changed between then and 2011,  12 years of pretty young things doing GFE  all night for 1000 baht.

Before Jan 2011, the level of ignorance about Pattaya among Thais was staggering.
No Thai language facebook, No Line, No TF  etc
The only way a young  village girl could find out about Pattaya was if an existing bar girl from her village came back for a home visit.
This is why all new girls would start working in the same bar as her village friend, this was always a beer bar, new girls knew nothing about Patts and were far too shy to consider a gogo.

These pretty young things filled every beer bar in Pattaya, the place was overflowing with them, all working for 1000 LT with a BF of 300, and that was when the uk pound was 57
When a girl started to look over 35, she would give up bar work because of the competition from too many girls in their 20s
There were about half the number of gogo bars back then and reserved for the very best looking girls who had all served their apprenticeship for a couple of years in beer bars first, learning the ropes
These girls were 1500 - 2000 LT with a BF of 600.

When you walked down the road, every  pretty young  girl was heads up looking for a customer and shouting at every man who walked  past  (not head buried in their phone like now)